top of page

Give Yourself What You Deserve

This is a personal, but open letter to anyone who knows, or maybe doesn't know that they can give themselves more. To anyone that needs to hear this more than anything right now, or just to peruse over a good cup of steaming tea.


Dear Friends,


First off, lemme start by telling you how much I love and adore you. Ultimately, that's the most important thing here. I love when we have good times, and laugh till we get side cramps, and have inside jokes to giggle over together. I love the way we look out for each other and know when something is wrong, even when no words have been exchanged. I love how my entire day can be changed with one look from you. I care about you so much and that's why I wanna talk to you about giving yourself the best life you can live.


I know what it's like to not treat yourself right. To beat yourself up for whatever reason and think that maybe you aren't worth it, but, trust me, you are. You are.


You deserve more. You deserve so much more.

You deserve to look in the mirror every day and love what you see. To be able to say "damn! I look good today!" No matter what society or others say, trust me you look great.

You deserve to nourish and treat your body well, knowing that YES! you are so worth it! You are what you eat, and whatever you put in your body becomes part of you and how you are going to function.


You deserve time for recovery. I know as college students sleep definitely goes out the window, but if you have the time and need to, get some extra zzz's.


You deserve a treat yo' self! Eat a couple pieces of pizza, go for the pint of Ben and Jerry's, Netflix it out for a couple hours.


You deserve to breathe. Take a moment right now and just take a deep breath and thank the world that you are alive and breathing right now.


You deserve someone to talk to. No judgment or advice, just all ears. I am always here for you for that. I can also direct you to someone who can also do that for you. One little life tidbit - counseling isn't just for those with "problems", we all have our own issues and some may end up being bigger than you think they are.


Lastly, to get the ball rolling I want you to do this one thing.


Do something ONCE A DAY that is FOR YOU.


Whether it be making some tea and reading a book before bed, or painting your nails, or treating yourself at the farmer's market, doing some yoga in your room, or even talking with a dear friend.


Love yourself and give yourself a break once in a while.


You deserve it. You are worth it. I love you.

- ML


"Life is tough, my darling, but so are you." - Stephanie Bennett-Henry
0 comments
bottom of page