top of page

I've Been Gilmored.

Updated: May 30, 2018


Coffee, small town in New England, witty lightning speed dialog, what more could a girl ask for?


I've been slowly bingeing my way through Gilmore Girls since last summer when I finally gave into the long past due hype, still years behind most of the show's avid followers. I didn't know what the show was about except a mother and a daughter who happened to be pretty close in age and that didn't quite sell it for me at first. But, once I saw those charming-as-frick-cutesy twinkling lights of Luke's Diner at night at the beginning of the title sequence in the pilot, I knew I was gonna be in it for the long run.

Because of Amy Sherman-Palladino's brilliant New England fantasy TV world, I've become addicted to coffee, usually with a side of pop tarts, and about everything Gilmore Girls. I'll admit I'm still slowly chugging my way through the series, only on about season three right now (and may the universe so help you if you tell me spoilers), but how quickly does one expect to get through seven seasons of a show with about 22 episodes per season? I know longtime fans were less than impressed with the Netflix reboot special, but I still see that as a golden Gilmore Girls Valhalla that I must reach in order to have the best conversations with other avid long-time Gilmore Girls fans.


Now I digress, after all this post was originally or supposed to be about "The Show That Saved Me." Then I realized how sickeningly melodramatic that was for a title, and most definitely a little clickbait-y. After all it didn't cure me of any life-threatening diseases or make me want to change my life career, but like a good friend, it's been there to get me through some rough days and for that I strongly believe it deserves a lengthy blog post to announce my dedication.


 Now I understand the whole phenomenon behind people watching TV series and becoming emotionally invested and attached is because essentially the idea is we've seen so much of these character's lives that we actually feel like we know these characters personally and we've become emotionally invested in them. Which I think is pretty crazy, and also a sign of a well-written TV show. So that being said, yes, I am one of those crazy gals who feels like she knows Lorelei and Rory on a personal level, someone who would kill for a day in Stars Hollow, and would willingly consume copious amounts of coffee in one sitting to feel even a mile closer to Luke's Diner.

Now I know there have been many an opinion article on the pitfalls of Gilmore Girls; very logical and analytical people breaking apart the show to explain how in reality the Gilmores are extremely privileged people and that the show is about the problems of highly privileged girls complaining about how they're less privileged than other rich people in a town full of very close minded individuals lacking diversity among other early 2000s not-so-PC things. Woo. That sentence was worthy of a Gilmore, sans some pop culture references.


While I think it's important to know that a lot of the show is highly unrealistic and has its problems in terms of idealizing what life should be like, it's an escape. Like hundreds of TV shows and movies on the air today and in the past, it's not supposed to be real life. Because if I wanted a shovelful of real life I'd step out my front door and go get some.

Gilmore Girls is for the rainy days where all you want to do is curl up in a blanket and spend some time by yourself. Gilmore Girls is for when absolutely everything has gone wrong that day and all you want to do is watch Kirk try to capitalize off of another silly money-making venture. Gilmore Girls gives you a little slice of New England on those days you're really feeling homesick and would give all the cups of coffee in the world to see the leaves turn. Gilmore Girls is for when you feel completely lost and emotionally empty and need Carol King's comforting voice reminding you that someone absolutely someone will be there for you.


All complaints aside, the show is about relationships and people being there for each other. It's there when you need dialog that keeps up with the caffeinated speed your own mind works at. For reminding you that yeah freaking out and overthinking things isn't just a "you problem", that there will always be "boy drama" good or bad, that best friends can fight, but love and time and a good cup of coffee will fix things.

It's my little happy place in the TV sphere. It reminds me things will be okay and life will keep moving on as long as we do.


Now if you'll excuse me, I think my coffee is done.

 - ML

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page